Close

Ark Pak 730 Charging

Posted: 5 months ago Quote #1536
hi, im relatively new to the whole portable power setup world but have set up my own system in my van/campervan. I have a few questions which id appreciate any help with!

At the moment I have an ark pak 730 with an 130AH deep cycle battery, this powers my 12v portable fridge. I have 120w solar panels on the roof which are connected to the ark pak via the Anderson socket, which in essence keeps my battery topped up. (I hope this is all a correct way of doing things)

I'm finding that when I connect 2x phone chargers to an extension lead off the 240v outlet on the pak, I sometimes get an overload alarm.  when phones are charging and fridge is running it is only using approx 60w. Or if I just connect my laptop charger to the ark pak it won't charge at all with alarm sounding. My understanding is that it has a 10a max outlet with the 300w inverter inside, so why won't it charge as surely that cannot be pulling more than 10a?

Second question: Solar panels on roof.- they came pre wired to a voltage regulator on the back of the panel, because I wanted to permanently mount panels on the roof and the controller isn't waterproof I have put an external junction box where the regulator was and fitted the regulator inside the van next to the ark pak. I have connected the wiring from external junction box to regulator using the cable they supplied which is 1mm 2core. I think this may be too small and should look at upgrading that cable size? Having this cable size could it hamper the watts being produced by the panels? (Cable doesn't seem to be getting hot) and am only getting approx 80w of power from panels in direct sunlight, is this normal?

As I've said I'm new to the portable power setup but have an okay understanding of electrics and wiring as from an air conditioning background, any help much appreciated thanks in advance!

Posted: 5 months ago Quote #1538
Hi Dozer 17